Making The Big Decisions

Recently, I have asked myself some really tough questions about my business, my life and where I wanted to be in five years. It is always difficult to weed out good vs. bad advice and ultimately what will make you a better person and be able to attain your goals.

If you’re trying to make a tough decision, ask these five questions to help yourself think more clearly.

1. What am I waiting for?

2 What would I do if I wasn’t scared?

3. What steps would make things easier?

4 What would I do if I had all the time and money in the world?

5. What is the worst thing that could happen?

Here is a song by Jason Mraz that tries to wake us up into doing something in life. It speaks about how people tend to avoid making hard decisions that they know they have to make—enjoy it.

4 responses

  1. Great questions. I ask them myself when it comes to my crafts and beading. I’m so terrified to put myself out there for fear of rejection, humiliation, etc.

    1. What am I waiting for? Someone else to peddle my wares for me.
    2. If I wasn’t scared, I’d be out there doing shows and bugging gift shops to sell my stuff.
    3. What would make things easier is if I could stay at home making stuff and someone else could do the shows and bugging of the gift shops, and managing all aspects of the business. I don’t like having to be a bean counter. I’m not interested in it or good at it. I just wanna make stuff.
    4. Currently I have lots of time, but money is desperately needed. If I had the money I’d be traveling.
    5. The worst thing that can happen is to face rejection, embarrassment, humiliation, criticism….and that’s what’s keeping me from putting myself out there. I’m just too scared to have my feelings hurt.

  2. I totally understand JoJo. This might sound funny, but “act it out!” You become an alter-ego of yourself. Just like Melanie Griffith in the movie Working Girl.
    It’s easier said than done, but it could also be a lot of fun too!

Leave a Reply

